Dewayne Hopson is an attorney in Clarksdale, MS. This article is for informational purposes only and by reading this article you acknowledge this general information should not be construed as legal advice.
Wearing seat belts are very important for everyone’s safety in a car accident! Everyone knows that, but are you updated on the latest car seat and seat belt laws? Mississippi rules on seat belts and car seats are not so simple anymore, they have been updated since the old days.What may was the law for car seats 20 years ago is not the same law today.
Updated Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws(And “Recommendations”) As of April 2018
Rear-facing only seats and rear-facing convertible seats
All infants and toddlers should ride in a Rear-Facing Car Seat until they are at least 2 years of age or until they reach the highest weight or height allowed by their car seat’s manufacturer.
Convertible seats and forward-facing seats with harnesses
Any child who has outgrown the rear-facing weight or height limit for his convertible car seat should use a Forward-Facing Car Seat with a harness for as long as possible, up to the highest weight or height allowed by the car seat manufacturer.
All children whose weight or height is above the forward-facing limit for their car seat should use a Belt-Positioning Booster Seat until the vehicle seat belt fits properly, typically when they have reached 4 feet 9 inches in height and are between 8 and 12 years of age. This is usually when the child is about 65 pounds or 8 years old.
When children are old enough and large enough for the vehicle seat belt to fit them correctly, they should always use Lap and Shoulder Seat Belts for optimal protection.
All children younger than 13 should be restrained in the rear seats of vehicles for optimal protection.
Collected the above information directly from the Mississippi State Department of Health’s Website.
Updated Seat Belt Laws in Mississippi As of April 2018
As of now, all passengers in Mississippi are required to have a seat belt on. This is different from the old law that only required front seat passengers and all children under 7 to have their seat belts on. See Mississippi Code § 63-2-1.
Bottom Line: Seat Belts Save Lives! Put Them On!
Or at least put them on to avoid tickets!
At Hopson Law Group we are personal injury lawyers who represent clients that are having a tough time dealing with insurance companies. You can reach us at 662-624-4100 to set up an appointment for a free consultation!